Makeup Monday: Autumn Colours

Posted on October 18, 2010

2



It’s time to put away the electric blues and sunshine yellows. Autumn is ALL about husky pinks, gorgeous greys and chocolate browns this year. And I love it.

Eyes

I have been loving the Clinique Strawbery Fudge Holiday Compact (£25). It comes with three Colour Surge Eye Shadows Trio in soft pink which gives a gorgeous, sparkling pink/gold shimmer, chocolate brown which deepens the shade, and dark slate for edgy definition. It also includes a generous serving of Soft Pressed Powder Blusher in New Clover which is great for giving cheeks definition in a warm, cosy glow. I’ve been using this with Benefit DownTown Brown (Rich Espresso) Automatic Eyeliner (£13) and Deep Brown BadGal Lash Mascara (£15.50). I don’t usually reckon on brown mascara but this is really rich and deep in colour, and lasts all day. I love the way it works with the pinky eyeshadows and gives a more au naturel look, while still making my eyes ‘pop’ as it were.

Face

For a healthy Autumn glow it’s got to be the effortlessly easy to use RockFace Mineral Foundation, Honey Medium  (£13).  Mineral makeup is my new favourite thing. So blimmin’ easy to use, I first wondered if I was doing it right. Glides on with a brush, covers flawlessly, stays on all day, even without primer and feels and looks far less heavy than creme foundations. I then add a bit of definition with the Soft Pressed Powder Blusher in New Clover from the Clinique compact (above), and add a bronzed sheen with the gorgeous e.l.f Healthy Glow Bronzing Powder, Luminance (£1.50), which is light enough to give more of a lightening, brightening definition than a sunkissed bronze, but I think that’s exactly what you need in October. As a final booster i’ve been using the incredible Transformulas Hydration Gold (£45) moisturiser under my foundation each day. The actual gold flecks in the cream gives my complexion a luminous lift and a really fresh look, it boosts up tired skin and always makes me feel fabulous.

Lips

For an easy to use day to day gloss I really like the excellent value BeautyUK Retro Plumping Lips in Light Brown (£2.99). It’s a simple classic colour and blends well with the other browns and pinks around and makes my lips look full and glossy. For a serious vamp it up moment then I am a bit in love with  All for Eve Red Lipstick by Daniel Sandler (£10) for a strong colour. Man this stuff is red, but it’s really effective and bold.

Nails

For starters I cannot get enough of the Nails Inc Seven Dials (£11), an intoxicating green that I can’t stop looking at on my nails, i’m struggling to get anything done, it’s a problem. For something less distracting, I love Natio Maple (£9), it’s just so sheer and smart, love it, great for a week long staple that just looks good all the time. For a classic Autumn colour I love Stacy, Wonderfull Winter Collection by Zoya (£2.95) – this is a deep purpley, rouge that goes on quickly and stay on for ages. It’s also a great polish, with no nasties and lots of natural ingredients. Lovely. To really embrace the browns I’ve also been enjoying Tight Knit from Barielle (£8). Part of their entirely brown Autumn range, this colour is like shimmery hot chocolate on your nails, the gloss giving some light to the dark shades. It looks fab on. 

Scent

I’ve been wearing a lot of Gucci Flora (£44.50) recently. It’s quite a strong scent, and has floral overtones but isn’t summery in the slightest. It lasts well and is well priced at The Perfume Shop with a 100ml body lotion thrown in for free. For the last vestiges of summer, and in keeping with the pink theme, I love Lacoste Joy of Pink (£24.50). Great design and a fresh, clean scent that is definitely Autumnal. The smaller 30ml is a great option for handbags.

