Tuesday Treat: Brazilian Chocolate and Keratin hair treatment

Posted on October 25, 2010

3



The Pampered Pauper tried out a Brazilian Chocolate and Keratin hair treatment at Eleven Hair in Mayfair and we have to say we’re impressed. It’s a friendly salon, with a cool vibe, run by some cool blokes. My stylist Becky was great, friendly and informative. Treatment takes two and a half hours, and has three stages. First the wash with purifying shampoo to ‘open up the cuticles’ so that the straightener took to my scalp. Then it’s dried till it’s nearly dry, but not quite, before they paint the solution on in a very thin film. Had a mild freak out when they told me it had formaldehyde in it (I went to dark and scary dead-cows-in-tanks, Damien Hirst place ), but it’s massively diluted so I calmed down a bit. Then the treatment is sealed in using heating irons, ironing it three times.

The effect on my hair was amazing. It felt like someone else’s hair. Not mine. Sleek and shiny and soft.  For the first time in my life it swung, I’ve never had swinging hair! Not getting it wet or trying it back for three days was a bit of a bore, but it’s been worth it. A couple of weeks on the effect has reduced somewhat, you do need to still blowdry and briefly straighten it, but it takes much less work. If you straighten your hair every day, this is a must, it makes life so much easier.

*As a final point, three weeks in, and I’m sad about this, the effect has all but worn off. It’s just not as straight or sleek and shiny as I would have expected, and feels much more like my normal hair. Shame, the salon was excellent – but the treatment let’s it down.

