Girl Friday: Sporting essentials for water babies

Posted on November 5, 2010

2



I swim about three or four times a week, and I love it. But man alive it plays havoc with my hair and skin. It’s so so dry these days. So, what has been saving my skin, literally, since I became a veritable water baby? (With a lot less grace, and a considerable amount less strange Scottish singing, I might add).

Organics Shampoo and Conditioner –  These are neat and effective, and perfect for dry, chorliney hair. They smell great and last a long time, i’ve even got the travel size 100ml bottles which are great value and they’ve lasted me a month or so. £9.50, 250ml

Tints of Nature Seal & Shine conditioner – This leave-in conditioner is perfect if you’re in a rush, it coats the hair in a silky mosturising mask which when it dries looks nothing like the fluffy barnet you might usually associate with After Swimming Hair. I love it so much, I even use it to protect my hair before I swim with a few quick sprays, or after I’ve swum and I’m heading home before jumping in the shower.

Fudge mint body and hair wash – This is a good option if space is at a premium. It’s  big bottle but it lasts long enough to be worth carrying around and it would suffice as a shampoo and body wash. It’s very minty, which is way preferrable to smelling of chlorine, and it gives you a nice kick of energy after 40 punishing lengths. Or 50, or 100, whatever. £8.50, 250ml

Senzimi Sensitve Skin Moistursier – Even if you don’t have sensitive skin it’s likely after a lot of swimming that your face especially will start to ‘feel the burn’, as it were. There are definitely times when due to the chlorine and the winter weather that my skin feels really delicate and most of my normal products are no use. Enter Scizemi, a really excellent brand of products for sensitive skin. Their mosturiser is simple and subtle but rich enough to give your face the big soothing moisture drink it needs, without irritating it. I do not go to the pool without it.

Clinique Moisture Surge Facial Spray – this spray is excellent, you can use it throughout the day and during these winter months I often have it in my handbag. And it’s also a great solution for tired, dry skin. Spray a bit on after swimming and let you skin drink in the goodness.

Figs and Rouge Sweet Geranium Balm – This is super smelling stuff, and is great for lips, but you can also use it for hands. It’s rich and soothing and really coats and protects your hands, when my skin is dry this instantly makes it feel better.

Phyto Ultra Dry Hair Mask – Once every couple of weeks I give my hair a real treat and soak it in this for an hour. Usually I give it a wash and then get in a hot bath with the mask on, and relax for a while, really allowing it to soak into my scalp. It leaves my hair silky and smooth, and provides a good level of protection from chlorine.

Posted in: Girl Friday